Dave Chappelle To Be Awarded Mark Twain Prize For American Humor

The prestigious John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts just announced that Stand-Up Comedian and Actor, Dave Chappelle (The Chappelle Show, Half Baked) will be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor this year.

Chappelle is not the first Comedian to be awarded with the Mark Twain Prize. Carol Burnett, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart and Richard Pryor all have received one in this category.

"For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective." - Deborah F. Rutter

The prize will be awarded at a Kennedy Center gala on Oct. 27, 2019, and you can tune in and watch the awards show on PBS stations Jan. 6, 2020.

* ** Fun Fact: Pryor was actually the very first to be awards the American Humor Prize in 1998. ***